Ellen DeGeneres To Receive Presidential Medal Of Freedom

The medal is the nation’s highest civilian honor.

President Barack Obama has named 21 recipients of the Presidential Medal of Freedom, including Robert De Niro, Diana Ross and out comedian turned talk show host, Ellen DeGeneres.

Getty Images

MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA - MARCH 26: TV personality, Ellen DeGeneres and her wife Portia de Rossi arrive at a Ellen DeGeneres Welcome Party on March 26, 2013 in Melbourne, Australia. Ellen DeGeneres is in Australia to film segments for her TV show, 'Ellen'. (Photo by Scott Barbour/Getty Images)

“The Presidential Medal of Freedom is not just our nation’s highest civilian honor — it’s a tribute to the idea that all of us, no matter where we come from, have the opportunity to change this country for the better," Obama said in a statement. "From scientists, philanthropists, and public servants to activists, athletes, and artists, these 21 individuals have helped push America forward, inspiring millions of people around the world along the way.”

Jason LaVeris/FilmMagic

VAN NUYS, CA - NOVEMBER 22: Ellen DeGeneres kicks off the "Power a Smile" campaign at the Van Nuys Airport on November 22, 2013 in Van Nuys, California. (Photo by Jason LaVeris/FilmMagic)

On the White House's website they released a bio of each recipient. Read DeGeneres' below:

Ellen DeGeneres is an award-winning comedian who has hosted her popular daytime talk show, The Ellen DeGeneres Show, since 2003 with her trademarked humor, humility, and optimism. In 2003 Ellen lent her voice to a forgetful but unforgettable little fish named Dory in Finding Nemo. She reprised her role again in 2016 with the hugely successful Finding Dory. Ellen also hosted the Academy Awards twice, in 2007 and 2014. In 1997, after coming out herself, DeGeneres made TV history when her character on Ellen revealed she was a lesbian. In her work and in her life, she has been a passionate advocate for equality and fairness.

Here is a full list of the recipients:

Kareem Abdul-Jabbar

Elouise Cobell

Ellen DeGeneres

Robert De Niro

Richard Garwin

Bill and Melinda Gates

Frank Gehry

Margaret H. Hamilton

Tom Hanks

Grace Hopper

Michael Jordan

Maya Lin

Lorne Michaels

Newt Minow

Eduardo Padrón

Robert Redford

Diana Ross

Vin Scully

Bruce Springsteen

Cicely Tyson

The awards presentation will be at the White House on Nov. 22 and will be live-streamed.