LGBTQ Politicians Share Excitement Over Being Sworn-In

The rainbow wave candidates have been sworn-in and are ready to get to work.

The rainbow wave came in with a fury this past year, sweeping LGBTQ candidates into office.

Now, as we start the new year, they have now been sworn-in and are celebrating the start of 2019, and their new terms, some of which are firsts. They are taking to social media to share pictures of their name placards and their visions for their time in office going forward. That is, once the government shutdown comes to an end.

Sharice Davids

Rep. Sharice Davids (pictured above) defeated Republican incumbent Rep. Kevin Yoder in the race for Kansas’ 3rd congressional district. She is the first openly LGBTQ person elected to Congress from Kansas, one of the first two Native American woman, and the first lesbian Native American individual elected to Congress.

Tammy Baldwin

Kris Connor/Getty Images for NAMM

WASHINGTON, DC - MAY 23: Senator Tammy Baldwin (D-WI) enters to meet with President of the NAMM (National Association of Music Merchants) Foundation Joe Lamond and NAMM members during Save The Music Foundation Day Of Music Education Advocacy in the Hart Senate Office Building the on May 23, 2018 in Washington, DC. (Photo by Kris Connor/Getty Images for NAMM)

Sen. Tammy Baldwin won her bid for re-election, fending off challenger Leak Vukmir, in Wisconsin. Baldwin and Sen. Krysten Sinema are the two LGBTQ members of the Senate.

Krysten Sinema

Chip Somodevilla/Getty Images

WASHINGTON, DC - NOVEMBER 13: U.S. Senator-elect Kyrsten Sinema (D-AZ) walks through the U.S. Capitol November 13, 2018 in Washington, DC. Sinema narrowly defeated her opponent Rep. Martha McSally (R-AZ) to become the first Democrat Arizona has elected to the Senate since 1988. (Photo by Chip Somodevilla/Getty Images)

Sinema won a tight race in Arizona to become the first bisexual Senator.

Brian Sims

Rep. Brian Sims decisively won re-election, giving him a fourth term in the Pennsylvania House of Representatives.

Time to deliver...

— Brian Sims (@BrianSimsPA) January 1, 2019

Malcolm Kenyatta

Rep. Malcolm Kenyatta is the first African-American gay man elected to a state office in Pennsylvania, winning the 181st District.

Angie Craig

Rep. Angie Craig is the first openly LGBTQ person elected to the U.S. House of Representatives from Minnesota, beating out incumbent Rep. Jason Lewis.

Maura Healey

John Tlumacki/The Boston Globe via Getty Images

BOSTON - NOVEMBER 4: Maura Healy, who won the office of attorney general, walks to a tv interview at Martha Coakley's election night party at the Fairmont Copley Hotel. (Photo by John Tlumacki/The Boston Globe via Getty Images)

Massachusetts Attorney General Maura Healey won her re-election bid, defeating Republican challenger James McMahon.

Susan Ruiz

Rep. Susan Ruiz won her election to represent District 13 in the Kansas House of Representatives. She is one of the first two openly LGBTQ members of the Kansas Legislature.

Brandon Woodard

Rep. Brandon Woodard is the other openly LGBTQ member elected to the Kansas Legislature, representing the 30th District. This will also be his first term in office.

Julian Cyr

Massachusetts State Sen. Julian Cyr won re-election, defeating Republican opponent John Flores to secure a second term.

Gerri Cannon

Rep. Gerri Cannon became one of two transgender women elected to the New Hampshire House, after finishing second in the Stafford County District 18, with 21% of the vote.

Lisa Bunker

Rep. Lisa Bunker is the other transgender woman who made history by being elected to the New Hampshire House, representing District 18. Bunker and Cannon now join Virginia state Del. Danica Roem as the only openly trans members of a state legislature.

Brianna Titone

Rep. Brianna Titone is Colorado's first transgender lawmaker, elected to represent House District 27 in a tight race.

Chris Papas

Congressman Chris Pappas became the first openly LGBTQ person elected to Congress from New Hampshire, winning his race against Eddie Edwards, the former Police Chief of South Hampton.

Latest News